That Terrible Downpour

The raindrops were pelting heavily, drenching his favourite leather jacket, a gift from her on his recent birthday. The wind was howling wildly as if a pack of wolves were making their presence felt, in that moonlit night. He was walking away, leaving her staring at his tall, broad-shouldered physique slowly receding into a mere silhouette. His heart flinched, his insides churned insanely. With every step he was braving off the insuperable urge to turn and face her. To walk back to her. To pull her into a long yet soft kiss. To let her rest her head on his chest and make her feel safe. He was desperately trying to blink away the tears welling up in his eyes. He recalled his father telling him something, when this guy, then an eight-year old, wounded his arm while playing cricket.

“No Son! Real men don’t cry. They’re tough on the outside and strong inside.”

But just then the dam broke loose and tears trickled down, mingling with the raindrops. ‘This wound is too deep, Dad! It’s my heart this time. Forgive me!’

“Tough or simple, pleasant or bitter, rough or smooth, she’ll be the same. I just cannot live without her. . . OR. . . with her.”

All this while, she just stood still. Watching him slowly drift away from her, literally and figuratively. She closed her eyes, the last ten minutes flashed back. She had wrapped her arms around him, comforted by his scent and tormented it was the last time she’d smell him. She had tried stopping him, moving his thought, but in vain. She came across many who loved her smile, but he… he loved her scars as much. Torn apart by her intellect which said he’s gone forever, that he won’t ever return, and her lover instinct that told her he will definitely come back, she preferred the latter. ‘Cause that pacified her wild heart. Somewhere deep in her heart, she knew he’ll realise his fault. She knew he won’t be able to stay away from her for long. She knew what he saw moments back was a mask, behind which the person who loved her the most, still thrived. She knew he was just hers.

“Our meeting was like meeting of two chemical substances. The reaction had taken place. We both are transformed. I know, you too have.”

She seemed to know everything. She was a complete source of positivity. But that did not make her tread onto the illogical path. A deep, dark dungeon of her heart had a fierce monster captured.
‘You have loved him too much NOT to feel any hatred for him.’

He’s gone too far.
Almost out of her sight.

She’s standing still.

The downpour’s terrible.

18 thoughts on “That Terrible Downpour

  1. I loved it! Maybe because i can relate with every word you wrote there… but something struck a cord. Trust me… I am a cry baby but this was something I didn’t cry over since quite sometime. Do you think he’ll come back? Or did he just leave …. forever? Is there hope? Should she keep hope or give up? What was it that brought them here? Why did it make them give up on something that once kept them breathing? Was it someone’s fault? Or was it their/her/his ego getting in the way? As you mentioned… wil he actaully ever realise his mistake? Or will she spend the the rest of her life with the void of the one that got away? Ps. Too many questions… but I’m just an extra curious person.. once again … well done.. and ease do answer…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I myself didn’t have THAT many questions. Guess I’ll turn this little blog into a story in different parts.
      Wait.. Woah! You gave me an awesome idea. I will make it a complete story. Thanks Ma’am. 😀
      What say? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Amazing!!! I want to read the entire story FIRST! (Payback for the idea) 😀 how about if you post it on wattpad as well? That way you could get more readers..?? And.. They say an author always leaves a few bits of himself in his works… What’s your bit in this piece? 😛 (don’t forget about my questions, they’re not letting me sleep) 😛 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Amazing!!! I want to read the entire story FIRST! (Payback for the idea) 😀 how about if you post it on wattpad as well? That way you could get more readers..?? And.. They say an author always leaves a few bits of himself in his works… What’s your bit in this piece? 😛 (don’t forget about my questions, they’re not letting me sleep) 😛 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Alright… see this is the reason I could never read a mystery novel.. now I’m going to spend all my time thinking of the back story and the answer to those questions.. :! but you must have thought of something, right? I mean you can’t really be like that’s all to it… it isn’t right? if you can’t disclose it here … maybe you could text me on whatsapp or ig… but something? at least?

        Like

  3. Even I’m burning with the same curiosity! This piece of story is as phenomenal as the author! Looking forward to the next hair-raising segment of the story. So when are you planning to put an end to my inquisitiveness?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Didn’t bother to read but were concerned enough to type in your ID, think of a stupid name and comment?! xD
      Quite an idiot! Anyway, thanks for not reading. Plus, bhaijaan ‘nihilistic’ ka usage galat hai. *thank me later* 🙂

      Like

      1. I see xD no worries. Though that gives me a lesson, I too just started writing. Won’t get too overconfident about it 😛
        it would be great if you could check out the one piece I’ve put up. Not ‘advertising’ as such, just thought that your comments would be a great help to me. If you’d like to do that, that is.
        I too want to be able to write pieces on unconditional love that are descriptive and can be connected to, but I’m lost at where to begin.
        Any suggestions/advice? 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

